Top Local News For Columbia Greene Counties

Top Local News For Columbia Greene Counties

Top Local News For Columbia Greene Counties


C-GCC announces its nursing grads by Campus News

C-GCC’s 2020 Nursing graduates: 

  • Jennifer Ann Giordano, Acra.
  • Samantha Fletcher, Amenia.
  • Corey Allen Brady, Athens.
  • Jenna Jimenez and Nina Sommer, both of Cairo.
  • Angelika L. Fernandez, Catskill.
  • Emily Martin, Copake.
  • Yusef Abushqeir and Christopher Jon Gianola; Coxsackie.
  • Cody R. Anderson, Dover Plains.
  • Carly N. Antone, East Setauket.
  • Christopher R. Arsenault, Victoria Mannino, and Katelyn Sterritt; Germantown.
  • Corrin Noel Ridolph, Highland.
  • Eleanore Augusta Nelson, Hillsdale.
  • April Christine Craig, Sarah Helen Holbrook, Karen Maria Hunt, Virginia Reid, Hallinan Mueller, and Kathleen Tully; Hudson.
  • Chelsea Laine Trapanese, Hurley.
  • Laura Lucille Monnier, Kelli Cait O’Leary, and Kayla M. Shaffer; Hyde Park.
  • Mary J. Tracy, Jewett.
  • Nicole Chavez, Kate Solveig Kristiansen, Emily Rose Rydin, and Anna K Zuvic; Kingston.
  • Kelly Elizabeth Hunter, Lake Katrine.
  • Alexandra Grace Mannino, Milan.
  • Elizabeth Rose Conklin, Millbrook.
  • Imre Berta, New Windsor.
  • Matthew S. Cotton, Palenville.
  • Rachael Beaumont and Laurie Ann Hoffman; Philmont.
  • Lisa M. Blake and Sarah Danielle Sullivan; Pine Plains.
  • Kristen M. Molina, Pleasant Valley.
  • Jennifer A. Might, Port Ewen.
  • Andre Bissent and Timothy V. Latimer; Poughkeepsie.
  • Brenna L. Barkstrom, Jordan Decker, Katie Drummond, and Marist Parr; Red Hook.
  • Juan Vicente Argueta-Quijada, Jennifer Marie Ellsworth, and Allison Johnsen; Saugerties.
  • Lauren Anita Scott, Selkirk.
  • Tina Marie Moccio, Staatsburg.
  • Elaine Hernandez, Valatie.
  • Andromeda Raindance, Woodstock.

“Nursing is the passion to serve and protect others,”said graduate Kayla Shaffer of Hyde Park, who was scheduled to speak at the ceremony prior to its cancellation. “Each one of us holds qualities that some may see as superhuman or extraordinary, but to us those qualities are what make us nurses, and they reside deeply within us. This is our passion; this is our life. This is what we will continue to do.”

Graduate Lisa Blake of Pine Plains, who was also scheduled to speak, said that C-GCC Nursing Alumni of 2020 will become role models for future nursing students, because, “Let’s face it — we have soldiered on through this unprecedented time as if we were made for it. And you know what? We were made for it.”

Nursing awards,funded by donors who want to acknowledge the hard work and dedication it takes to become a nurse, were sent to recipients by the C-GCC Foundation.

“The nursing faculty was saddened the students could not have the pinning ceremony this year,” said Dawn Wrigley, professor and Nursing division chairperson. “This was a wonderful class, deserving of nothing but the best. We are happy to still be able to acknowledge several outstanding students with awards.”

Andromeda Raindance of Woodstock was recipient of the Thomas H. Quinn Leadership Award. The intention of this award is to recognize a student who exhibits a caring nature towards clients and colleagues. It highlights a student who exemplifies what a nurse should be.

Emily Martin of Copake received the Lisa Belknap Pearson Award for Volunteerism, which was established in honor of the late C-GCF board member.

The Shelly Caggianelli Award for Excellence in Medical/Surgical Nursing, in memory of the dedicated C-GCC adjunct nursing instructor, went to Jennifer Giordano of Acra.

Jenna Jimenez of Cairo received The Joan Tompkins Columbia Memorial Hospital/Columbia-Greene Community College Nursing Scholarship, given in memory of the former president of the CMH School of Nursing — an architect of C-GCC’s nursing program. The award recognizes documentation skills and outstanding interactions with patients.

The Sandy Speenburgh Award — named for a former C-GCC nursing professor — is given to a leader with the ability to integrate academic knowledge, clinical reasoning, critical thinking, and ethical resolve in providing care to patients. Chelsea Laine Trapanese of Hurley is this year’s recipient.

The Rita Wood Kraljevich R.N. Award, sponsored by Ann Bullard — daughter of Rita Wood Kraljevich, who is an alumna of C-GCC’s nursing program — is given to a student who has been the class representative and who has attended nursing division meetings each month. The award was presented to Eleanore Augusta Nelson of Hillsdale.

The Mavis and John Caggianelli Nursing Award, sponsored by Mavis Caggianelli — an alumna of the C-GCC nursing program — and her late husband, John, is given to a student who possesses a good bedside manner, a calm demeanor and all-around professional aptitude. This year’s recipient is Christopher Jon Gianola of Coxsackie.

The Elizabeth H. Gould Scholarship pin, created by Marcia Cole to honor her aunt, Elizabeth Gould, a nurse, is given to nursing students who demonstrate leadership skills and excellence in patient care. This year’s recipients were: Yusef Abushqeir of Coxsackie, Brenna L. Barkstrom of Red Hook, Rachael Beaumont of Philmont, Imre Berta of New Windsor, Lisa M. Blake of Pine Plains, Elaine Hernandez of Valatie, Jennifer A. Might of Port Ewen, Kelli Cait O’Leary of Hyde Park, Emily Rose Rydin of Kingston, and Katelynn Sterritt of Germantown.

The Patricia Wood Public Health Award is given to nursing students who exhibit an ardent desire to help everyone, especially patients with challenges. Priority is given to Nursing students hoping to be employed in the public health arena. This year’s recipients were Sarah Holbrook of Hudson and Samantha Fletcher of Amenia.

The Ruth H. Schoonmaker Brooks Award was created by her children to honor their mother. The recipient must be someone who demonstrates a willingness to work hard, as evidenced by their high school and/or college grades, and a compassion for others — as evidenced by volunteered service to family, school, and community or employment. This year’s recipient is Emily Martin of Copake.

Sarah Holbrook of Hudson was this year’s recipient of The Dorothy Charles Memorial Kindness in Nursing Award. The award, created by Dorothy Charles’ daughter Cindy D’Esposito — a C-GCC nursing alumna, the award is given to a student who has repeatedly demonstrated a caring bedside manner with patients, and kindness to fellow students.

The Connie J. Murphy Scholarship went to Jennifer Might of Port Ewen. Created by Murphy’s granddaughter and C-GCC nursing alumna, Colleen Fortine, the scholarship is given to a nursing student who is presently a first responder, engaged in the military or a veteran, and/or is a LPN.

In addition to the nursing graduates’ awards, The Herman and Eleanor Abel Scholarships were presented to 10 first-year students who live in Columbia County. The scholarships are equal to full tuition for their second year in the program. This year’s recipients were Victoria Bashford and Hanna Hazzard of Stuyvesant, Kirsten Gaylord of Craryville, Emily Hofstetter of Philmont, Yahna Saltsman of New Lebanon, and Nancy Johnson, Jamie Kasala, Jennifer L. Moore, Natalie Williams, and Samantha Winkler of Hudson.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content