CGCC Mascot back in competition

posted by Bill Williams -

HUDSON – Rip Van Winkle has had enough rest. Now, it’s time to put Columbia-Greene Community College’s official mascot on top of the heap, as the SUNY Mascot Madness tournament – a competition to crown New York’s favorite college mascot – returns on Tuesday, March 13.

The tournament is back for its sixth edition, and this year invites 36 mascots from various SUNY campuses to compete, bracket-style, for the title of 2018 Mascot of the Year.

Round One begins at noon on Tuesday, March 13, and will continue until Friday, March 16 at 4:00 p.m. C-GCC is matched up against The Colt, mascot for SUNY Orange Community College.

Votes may be cast at the official SUNY Mascot Madness web page: https://blog.suny.edu/mascot-madness-2018, and C-GCC will be posting links to the voting page on its website and social media channels throughout the competition.

Rip Van Winkle leads C-GCC’s athletic teams, the Twins, and serves as a symbol of the twin counties of Columbia and Greene and the Catskill mountain range that connects them. His legend began with a short story written in 1819 by Washington Irving, in which he fell into an enchanted sleep for 20 years, after playing a game of nine-pin with the ghosts of Captain Henry Hudson.

Following a Round One win, advancing mascots will move on to subsequent rounds:

Round 2: Monday, March 19 12:00 p.m. – Wednesday, March 21 4:00 p.m.

Round 3: Thursday, March 22 12:00 p.m. – Monday, March 26 4:00 p.m.

Final Four: Wednesday, March 28 12:00 p.m. – Friday, March 30 4:00 p.m.

Finals: Monday, April 2 12:00 p.m. – Wednesday, April 4 1:00 p.m.

Comments

Bill Williams

Bill Williams

Want to know more about Bill Williams? Get their official bio, social pages & articles on Oldies 93.5! Read more

title

Content Goes Here